Selkirk 17 GHA 5

Selkirk consolidated their 100% record at the top of BT National League Division 1 with a well-deserved victory over their nearest challengers, GHA, at Philiphaugh this afternoon.
The spirt in home ranks, underlined by volunteers removing snow from the pitch from 8am this morning was evident on the field too.

The biting wind, which Selkirk deployed to their advantage in the first-half – certainly made conditions tricky but it was the hosts who played most of the rugby with GHA largely on the back foot, especially in the forward exchanges.

Selkirk led 10-0 at the interval.  Their first try was a well-crafted score after a forward rumble on the left and then switch right for full-back Josh Welsh to touch down.  Rory Banks missed the conversion.

Scrum-half Mikey Davies looked as if he had added to the scoreline but a try was correctly ruled out by referee Cammy Rudkin after the ball had ballooned forward in the lead-up.
By the break, though, Selkirk had added their second try.  Powerfully-built centre Craig MacDougall had set an attack in motion, which ended with his pack surging over the line for a try duly awarded after consultation between the officials.  It was credited to Selkirk openside Angus Duckett.

GHA, with Peter Jericevich always seeking to be positive, toiled to retain possession and, on the few occasions they found themselves in the Selkirk 22, they lacked composure.

Selkirk eased any anxiety on the part of their supporters with a fine third try, Welsh, a product like so many of his team-mates of Selkirk Youth club, benefiting from some midfield sleight of hand to score at the posts for Banks to convert.

GHA finished with a flourish with James Edgar garnering their solitary try.

SELKIRK:  J. Welsh, R. Banks, S. Hendrie, C. MacDougall, D. Clapperton, C. McColm, M. Davies, K. Cooney, J. Bett, C. Graur, J. Everitt, M. Kissick, E. MacDougall, A. Duckett, C. Marshall – Replacements: L. MacLennan, G. Patterson, B. Riddell, M. Utteridge S. McDonald.

Scorers: T – Welsh (2), Duckett C – Banks

GHA: Andrew Gillman; Rangi Jericevich, Chris Binnie, Niall Cassie, Euan Greer; Andrew Goudie, Peter Jericevich; Scott Carson, Donald Malcolm (captain), Michael Robertson, Adam Barnett, Chris McGeogh, Alan Auld, Ross Angus, Grant MacDonald – Replacements: James Malcolm, Scott Gallagher, Paul Harkins, Max MacFarlane, James Edgar.

Scorers: T – Edgar

Referee: Cammy Rudkin (Hawick)

Photo: Selkirk Rugby Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *