An excellent night was had by all on Saturday 15th April as the 22/23 senior season was celebrated n style at Braidholm. Thank you to everyone who attended and thank you to our speakers Eddie McGee and Chris Forbes for entertaining the crowd and to our President Euan Greer, Vice-President Gordon Adams, 1XV Captain Dario Ewing and Club Captain Michael Fox for hosting.

The GHA 22/23 Winners:

Club Person of the Year: Rod Jenkins – a stalwart of the club, and former, long-term committee member, Rod’s continued management of membership and pitch bookings at GHA often go unnoticed and the club were delighted to be able to show their appreciation to his many years of service.
1XV Player of the Year: Dario Ewing – having won the GHA Young Player of the Year back in 2018, Dario has been a steadfast leader amongst the senior squads. Joining the club from P6 and playing throughout the Minis and Midis sections, Dario made his 1XV debut back in 2016 and was awarded the 1XV captaincy in September 2022. Dario’s leadership has been key in keeping the team together during a tough season and his strength and character will help lead them through next season’s challenges in the 1st Division.
1XV Young Player of the Year: Luca Bardelli – a life-long player for GHA, Luca has excelled throughout his playing career, especially in his first full season for the 1XV. One of the top try scorers in the Premiership in the 22/23 season, Luca’s talent has seen him progress to the Super 6 with Ayrshire Bulls for the Summer 2023 Sprint Series. A well-deserved award for his efforts for GHA, we wish Luca all the best in his next steps, and look forward to watching his progress in the coming years.
2XV Player of the Year: Mike Ryan – the fearless leader and Captain of the 2XV, Mike has been a staple of the both the 1XV and 2XV team sheet. He has lead the 2XV through their most recent unbeaten seasons in the West Reserve Division 1 and was vital in the 2’s success this year in their National Reserve League Final win at home to Heriot’s Blues.
2XV Players’ Player of the Year: Frankie Quail – voted for by the 2XV players, Frankie’s commitment to the 2XV this season was commended by coaches Jim McCormick and Kenny Fairbairn and backed up by his teammates’ nominations. His try-rate alone has made him one of the leagues’ top points scorers and the accolade was well-deserved.
Lions Player of the Year: Martin Chirrey – Lions Captain Martin ‘Chutney’ Chirrey celebrated his award to a standing ovation from the room as he galloped towards the top table. Martin embodies the kindness and leadership that is required to hold together a squad on and off the field and it was the perfect opportunity to highlight and reward his dedication to the club and his fellow teammates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *