?GHA will make the long trip north this weekend for their first round tie in the BT Scottish Cup against Orkney. With the team having to leave Friday lunch time and getting back on Sunday night, work commitments and unavailability has played it’s part in the selection conundrum this week and Head Coach Euan Clark has named a side which contains 10 First XV debutantes including Robbie Firth who joined us last year and will be making his maiden appearance for the Firsts from the bench against his home club of Orkney. 

The others earning their first cap include teenagers and GHA Academy players Luis Barron at Hooker, Luther Mavunga at Lock, Thomas Brown at Outside Centre, Kirrill Chernick at replacement prop and Aidan Brennan who covers the back 3. In addition, Jack Preston the 20 yr old former Scotland U19 Scrum Half makes his debut at 9 having joined the club from Ayr over the summer and Thomas Sciallo, also 20, debuts at Tighthead Prop.  Utility back Cameron King starts at 15 having joined from Dalziel over the summer and Back Row Alasdair Walker adds his experience to the bench after a solid preseason.

Andrew Goudie returns at 10 after an injury lay off and Max MacFarlane has been handed the 12 jersey after the retirement of club legend Andrew Henderson. The side won’t be short of speed with flying wingers Nigel Kelly and Andrew Spowart out wide.

The team will be skippered by centurion Paul Harkins in an experienced back row alongside the in form Ross Angus and Grant MacDonald. Jamie Auld also makes his first start for the team in 2 seasons following a strong preseason and club stalwart Scott Carson is at Loose Head. At 27, Murray Houston who starts on the bench is the old man of the GHA backs with 5 years over the next eldest.

GHA Team to play Orkney away:

1 Scott Carson
2 Luis Barron
3 Thomas Sciallo
4 Luther Michael Mavunga
5 Jamie Auld
6 Paul Harkins (c)
7 Ross Angus
8 Grant Macdonald
9 Jack Preston
10 Andrew Goudie
11 Nigel Kelly
12 Max MacFarlane
13 Thomas Brown
14 Andrew Spowart
15 Cameron King

16 Kirill Chernick
17 Robbie Firth
18 Alasdair Walker
19 Murray Houston
20 Aidan Brennan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *